Alcohol Allergies and Intolerance

When a Hangover Is Actually Something Else

Table of Contents
View All
Table of Contents

If drinking alcohol, even in small quantities, gives you food allergy symptoms such as flushing, itching, or odd digestive problems as opposed to hangover symptoms, you may have an allergy or intolerance to alcohol.

Group of friends toasting with drinks
franckreporter / Getty Images

Although true allergies to ethanol (the scientific name for alcohol) are rare, alcoholic beverages can include a number of different ingredients that can cause symptoms of allergy or intolerance. This can be a problem if all you want to do is grab a drink with friends.

These ingredients in alcoholic beverages may cause symptoms in people who are sensitive to them:

  • Gluten in wheat, barley, and rye
  • Histamine
  • Sulfites
  • Yeast
  • Grapes
  • Corn

There's some good news, though. While some of these allergies may require you to quit drinking entirely, there are workarounds for the others. Here is information on the potentially problematic ingredients found in various alcoholic beverages, and what you can consider substituting for those drinks.

Gluten Sensitivity

Gluten, the protein that triggers celiac disease reactions, is found in three grains: wheat, barley, and rye. Malted barley is used to make beer and some other bottled drinks. Some beer also contains wheat (either in addition to or instead of barley).

Therefore, if you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity, you'll need to steer clear of conventional beer. If you have a wheat allergy, you can drink beer that's made with barley but not wheat.

It gets more complicated when it comes to alcoholic beverages that are made with gluten grains but distilled. Common distilled beverages that are sometimes made from wheat, rye, and barley include gin, vodka, and whiskey (including bourbon).

If you are concerned about consuming gluten-based alcohol, you can try a potato-based or grape-based vodka or a gluten-free whiskey made from sorghum (a gluten-free grain).

The American Dietetic Association (ADA) considers distilled spirits safe for people with celiac disease. According to celiac disease dietary guidelines, unless flavorings are added after the distillation process, distilled alcoholic beverages are gluten-free.

However, this is a controversial topic, since many people with celiac or gluten sensitivity do report reactions to alcoholic beverages distilled from gluten grains. Meanwhile, little research has been done on the effects of distilled spirits made from wheat on people with wheat allergy, but the European Food Safety Authority considers them safe.

Since the gluten-free commercial market has grown so much, many manufacturers make alcoholic beverages that are labeled as gluten-free. For example, there are a number of beers made entirely from gluten-free ingredients.

Common alcoholic beverages that are naturally gluten-free include wine and most brandies. Do read brandy labels carefully, though, since some flavored brandies include sweeteners and additives that may contain gluten.

Most liqueurs and some wine coolers are gluten-free as well. With any of these, it's wise to check labels or manufacturer websites since there are exceptions and some do include possible gluten-containing additives.

Histamine Intolerance

Many foods, including aged cheese and red wine, are high in histamine. This is the same chemical involved in a number of allergic reactions in the body.

An allergic reaction to high-histamine foods actually could indicate a possible histamine intolerance. Your body has two enzymes that are supposed to break down histamine, but sometimes these enzymes don't work as well as they should.

When this occurs, it can cause a variety of histamine intolerance symptoms, including the so-called "red wine headache." There also is some evidence of histamine being associated with migraines.

Antihistamines like Allegra (fexofenadine) and Zyrtec (cetirizine) may help alleviate histamine intolerance symptoms. However, the best treatment is the avoidance of histamine in the foods we consume, including alcohol.

While red wine is especially high in histamines, all alcoholic beverages have high levels of histamine. Other histamine-rich foods to avoid include cured meats, spinach, tomatoes, and fermented foods like kefir.

Sulfite Allergies

A group of sulfur-containing compounds known as sulfites occurs naturally in wine and beer, and they help inhibit the growth of harmful bacteria in those beverages. In addition, vintners sometimes add more sulfites to wines because they act as preservatives.

However, in susceptible individuals, sulfites can trigger asthma attacks or a serious, all-body allergic reaction known as anaphylaxis. For most sulfite-sensitive people, very low amounts of sulfites do not trigger an asthma attack, but as amounts go up, so do the chances of experiencing a reaction.

If your allergist has advised you that you are at risk of anaphylaxis due to a sulfite allergy, you will need to avoid wine. You would also need to carry an EpiPen to self-inject yourself with epinephrine (adrenaline) if the event of an emergency.

U.S. labeling laws require any food with sulfite concentrations greater than 10 parts per million (ppm) to be listed on the label using the term "contains sulfites."

There is no such thing as a truly sulfite-free wine. While organic wines are not allowed by law to include additional sulfites, some do include enough natural sulfites to be problematic for some asthmatic individuals.

Yeast Allergies

The type of yeast used to ferment many alcoholic beverages is a one-celled fungus commonly known as brewer's yeast. The scientific name is Saccharomyces cerevisiae, and it's the same yeast that is used to make bread rise.

Allergies to Saccharomyces cerevisiae have been well-documented in medical literature. They are most likely to occur in people who have mold allergies.

Brewer's yeast is used in all fermented alcoholic beverages—beer, wine, hard cider, sake, kvass, and other similar beverages—so individuals with yeast allergies should avoid these. The same may not be true for distilled liquor.

To date, there has been very little research done on yeast allergies and distilled spirits. If you are allergic to yeast and would like to make these beverages part of your diet, you should discuss further allergy testing with your allergist.

It's important to note that brewer's yeast isn't the same organism as Candida albicans, which some alternative health practitioners have speculated can cause everything from chronic fatigue to depression.

While mainstream practitioners agree that Candida albicans can cause acute infections like thrush, most reject the theory that chronic candidiasis is responsible for widespread health problems.

Grape Allergies

Grape allergies are rare, but they have been identified in the medical literature. In addition to wine, individuals with grape allergies need to avoid Armagnac, Cognac, ouzo, vermouth, port, champagne, most wine coolers, and packaged martini mixes.

Some possible alternatives to wine and grape-based spirits include Japanese plum wine, which has a sweet taste somewhat like Moscato, and Calvados, which is apple brandy.

Corn Allergies and Intolerances

To date, the question of whether distilled alcohol made from corn is safe for people with corn allergies (as other distilled grain alcohols appear to be for people with other grain allergies) has received very little attention in the peer-reviewed medical literature.

A 1999 case study on a patient who had demonstrated corn allergies and anaphylaxis triggered by beer appeared to show that corn-derived distilled alcohol was safe for people with corn allergies.

This case study was cited by the European Food Safety Authority in their position paper stating that distilled alcohol derived from corn was probably safe for patients with corn allergies, especially since scientists could not demonstrate the presence of proteins (the portion of corn that triggers allergic reactions) after the distillation process.

However, given that the clinical evidence on corn and distilled alcohol is so scant, you may wish to talk to your allergist before adding corn-derived distilled alcohol to your diet.

People with corn allergies should avoid alcohol derived from corn, most especially bourbon. Other types of liquor, including gin, whiskey, and some vodkas, may also be distilled from corn, so be sure to always check the label.

While some beers are safe—they use non-corn cereal grains, water, yeast, and hops—many are not. Currently, U.S. manufacturers are not required to list ingredients on malt beverages (although some do). Wine is safe for corn allergies and intolerances, but Spanish chicha is another fermented corn-based beverage that should be avoided.

One other potential area of concern may be flavorings added to liqueurs or brandies as these may contain corn. If the full list of ingredients is unavailable on the label, check the manufacturer websites or call customer service before drinking.

A Word From Verywell

Alcohol intolerance comes in many forms. If you have any type of food allergy, it's important to be very careful with the alcoholic beverages you consume. Label standards make it difficult to know what has gone into the production of beer, wine, and liquor.

If you have questions, be sure to ask your allergist regarding your specific reactions and how you may be able to continue to drink alcohol.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What are the key differences between alcohol allergy and alcohol intolerance?

    Alcohol intolerance is a genetic metabolic disorder that does not allow the body to process alcohol properly, whereas alcohol allergy is an immune response to an ingredient in the alcohol.

  • Can alcohol allergies or intolerance be cured?

    No, there is no cure for alcohol allergies or intolerance, but it is possible to manage symptoms.

  • How is alcohol intolerance diagnosed?

    Along with a physical exam and thorough medical history, your physician may perform an ethanol patch test. This involves placing ethanol on a gauze pad and putting the gauze pad on a person's arm to check for any reactions such as itching, redness, and swelling.

  • Can I still consume alcohol if I experience alcohol intolerance?

    It is not recommended. If someone with alcohol intolerance consumes alcohol, they are at greater risk for head and neck cancer, liver disease, and Alzheimer's disease.

Was this page helpful?
23 Sources
Verywell Health uses only high-quality sources, including peer-reviewed studies, to support the facts within our articles. Read our editorial process to learn more about how we fact-check and keep our content accurate, reliable, and trustworthy.
  1. Vally H, Thompson PJ. Allergic and asthmatic reactions to alcoholic drinks. Addict Biol. 2003;8(1):3-11. doi:10.1080/1355621031000069828

  2. Gonzalez-quintela A, Vidal C, Gude F. Alcohol, IgE and allergy. Addict Biol. 2004;9(3-4):195-204. doi:10.1080/13556210412331292235

  3. Balakireva AV, Zamyatnin AA. Properties of gluten intolerance: Gluten structure, evolution, pathogenicity and detoxification capabilitiesNutrients. 2016;8(10):644. doi:10.3390/nu8100644

  4. Cianferoni A. Wheat allergy: Diagnosis and managementJ Asthma Allergy. 2016;9:13–25. doi:10.2147/JAA.S81550

  5. Panda R, Garber EAE. Detection and quantitation of gluten in fermented-hydrolyzed foods by antibody-based methods: Challenges, progress, and a potential path forwardFront Nutr. 2019;6:97. doi:10.3389/fnut.2019.00097

  6. Rodrigo L. Celiac diseaseWorld J Gastroenterol. 2006;12(41):6577–6584. doi:10.3748/wjg.v12.i41.6585

  7. Murray J. Eating, diet, & nutrition for celiac disease. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. Updated June 1, 2016.

  8. Opinion of the Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies [NDA] related to a notification from CEPS on cereals used in distillates for spirits, pursuant to Article 6 paragraph 11 of Directive 2000/13/ECEFSA Journal. 2007;5(6):484. doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2007.484.

  9. Johanson L. The gluten-free frenzy: Fad or fitting?. Medsurg Nurs. 2015;24(4):213-7. PMID: 26434032

  10. Maintz L, Novak N. Histamine and histamine intolerance. Am J Clin Nutr. 2007;85(5):1185-96. doi:10.1093/ajcn/85.5.1185

  11. Hough LB. Dynamics of Histamine in the Brain. Basic Neurochemistry: Molecular, Cellular and Medical Aspects. 6th edition. January 1, 1999.

  12. Krymchantowski AV, Da cunha jevoux C. Wine and headache. Headache. 2014;54(6):967-75. doi:10.1111/head.12365

  13. Irwin SV, Fisher P, Graham E, Malek A, Robidoux A. Sulfites inhibit the growth of four species of beneficial gut bacteria at concentrations regarded as safe for foodPLoS One. 2017;12(10):e0186629. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0186629

  14. Yang WH, Purchase EC. Adverse reactions to sulfites. CMAJ. 1985;133(9):865-7, 880. PMID: 4052897

  15. Moyad MA. Brewer's/baker's yeast (Saccharomyces cerevisiae) and preventive medicine: Part II. Urol Nurs. 2008;28(1):73-5. PMID: 18335702

  16. Twaroch TE, Curin M, Valenta R, Swoboda I. Mold allergens in respiratory allergy: from structure to therapyAllergy Asthma Immunol Res. 2015;7(3):205–220. doi:10.4168/aair.2015.7.3.205

  17. Cater RE. Chronic intestinal candidiasis as a possible etiological factor in the chronic fatigue syndrome. Med Hypotheses. 1995;44(6):507-15. doi:10.1016/0306-9877(95)90515-4

  18. Jaeckels N, Bellinghausen I, Fronk P, Heydenreich B, Saloga J, Decker H. Assessment of sensitization to grape and wine allergens as possible causes of adverse reactions to wine: a pilot studyClin Transl Allergy. 2015;5:21. doi:10.1186/s13601-015-0065-8

  19. Bansal RA, Tadros S, Bansal AS. Beer, cider, and wine allergyCase Reports Immunol. 2017;2017:7958924. doi:10.1155/2017/7958924

  20. Figueredo E, Quirce S, Del amo A, et al. Beer-induced anaphylaxis: identification of allergens. Allergy. 1999;54(6):630-4. doi:10.1034/j.1398-9995.1999.00827.x

  21. IARC Working Group on the Evaluation of Carcinogenic Risk to Humans. Chemical composition of alcoholic beverages, additives and contaminants. Alcohol Drinking. January 1, 1988.

  22. Annunziata A, Pomarici E, Vecchio R, Mariani A. Do consumers want more nutritional and health information on wine labels? Insights from the EU and USANutrients. 2016;8(7):416. doi:10.3390/nu8070416

  23. Cleveland Clinic. Alcohol intolerance. Updated August 24, 2020.

Additional Reading