Types of Hodgkin and Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma

There are two main types of lymphoma: Hodgkin lymphoma and non-Hodgkin lymphoma. While both types of cancer develop in the same way, the single factor that distinguishes the two is a single type of cell—the Reed Sternberg cell. This cancerous cell type is found only in Hodgkin lymphoma and can be distinguished from other types of lymphoma by the way it appears under a microscope.

Furthermore, Hodgkin lymphoma and non-Hodgkin lymphoma grow and spread in different ways. If a lymphoma diagnosis is made and does not contain the Reed-Sternberg variant, cancer can then only be non-Hodgkin lymphoma.

Young woman with bald head stretching before exercise
Marvinh / Getty Images

Hodgkin Lymphoma

Also called Hodgkin disease, Hodgkin lymphoma is a cancer of the lymph tissue found in the lymph nodes, spleen, liver, and bone marrow.

Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma

Non-Hodgkin lymphoma covers a far more broad range of cancer cells. There are about 30 different types of non-Hodgkin lymphoma. These types of lymphoma can be difficult to diagnose as there are so many types. The most common subtypes of non-Hodgkin lymphoma are:

T-Cell Lymphomas

B-Cell Lymphoma

Was this page helpful?